Skip to content

Australia’s Got Talent contestant rips off Demetri Martin

May 26, 2010

When it comes to snappy one-liners, there are only so many ways to express the same funny idea. In talent competition Australia’s Got Talent contestant Matt Marr’s case, however, it’s hard to dispute that his opening joke is not only the same idea, but nearly the same wording as a well-known Demetri Martin quote. Video of his stand-up routine below, plus transcript of the joke in question.

I used to play a lot of sport, myself. Then I found out you can just go out and buy trophies. Now I’m good at everything.

Demetri Martin’s original, from These Are Jokes:

I used to play sports. Then I realized you can buy trophies. Now I’m good at everything.

Perhaps it’s freak coincidence, but the evidence is doubtful. There is a big difference between people who can tell jokes, and people who are creative, Matt Marr.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

