Skip to content

Demetri Martin interviews in the Dallas area

August 6, 2010

This is a bit late, but I’m busy: Demetri Martin gave interviews to a few news sources around Dallas for his House of Blues show.

First up is his interview with Pegasus News. Demetri discusses what he does with his old Large Pads, his difficulty in starting with a unique style, and working on the Daily Show during law school. He lists Woody Allen and Steven Wright as some of his favorite comedians.

Next is the Dallas Observer. Demetri compares working for Conan O’Brien to a decathlon:

I liked working on Conan because it was almost like doing a decathlon of comedy writing. For my show, I was figuring like the first season we’d have different kinds of segments, almost like writing for a late night show. I was just trying to find people who had a certain breadth of what they did, who weren’t afraid to pitch new forms. I like stuff that’s kind of inventive. And not so snarky. I’m just not into the snarky stuff. Making fun of celebrities and all that shit. I don’t know. I think it’s kind of boring. I just like stuff that’s a little less expected.

Last up (for now) is this Dallas News interview, where Demetri reveals that he’s doing a rewrite of Will, and that he’s a fan of Steve Martin.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

